Don’t be defeated

Don’t let the thoughts that go through your mind, or the external circumstances around you, dictate the truths you believe.
It’s so easy to give in to the thoughts, particularly when they begin to sound more and more like the truth, or when those around you seemingly start to confirm those beliefs about yourself.
Our minds so easily walk down the road of negativity much more easily than it is to walk down the road of positivity.
Hopelessness is a lie.
There is a difference between what you feel and what you know. Sometimes you feel something but you have to trump it with what you know. Will you let your external circumstances affect or dictate your internal reality?
It’s time to start speaking to your own soul.
So many times in the Psalms they speak to their own soul.
Psalm 103 v 1-5: Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name! Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits, who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy, who satisfied you with good so that your youth in renewed like the eagle’s.
Psalms 62 v 5-7: For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God.
Psalms 42 v 5: Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God!
Start speaking to your own soul. Tell your soul how it should be feeling, not allowing your soul to be swayed by your feelings.
In the words of Kris Vallotton: You are not your feelings! Your feelings do not tell you how are you are doing! Your feelings should not tell you what to do… you tell your soul how to feel.
Leave a Reply

